This website uses cookies. Continue browsing if you consent to this, or view our privacy policy.

Who we are

The Scottish Land Commission is a non-departmental public body established on 1 April 2017.

The Commission has five Land Commissioners and one Tenant Farming Commissioner, all appointed by Scottish Ministers.

The organisation is based in Inverness and has a team of 17 staff led by Chief Executive Hamish Trench.

Board of Commissioners

Andrew Thin (Chair)

Andrew is also Chair of Scottish Canals, a public corporation, and he has over thirty years of experience in leadership roles in the public, private and third sectors. He coordinated the work of the Agricultural Holdings Legislation Review and the Wild Fisheries Legislation Review in 2014. His previous public sector roles have included Crofters Commissioner, Chair of the Cairngorms National Park Authority, Chair of Scottish Natural Heritage, and Chief Executive of Caithness and Sutherland Enterprise. 

Dr Bob McIntosh CBE (Tenant Farming Commissioner)

Bob is a retired public servant with extensive experience in public policy, in particular in land management and forestry, Bob was the Scottish Government Director for Environment and Forestry between 2012 and 2015, and before that served as the Director of Forestry Commission Scotland and in many other roles in the Forestry Commission.  He was a partner in a 650-acre hill farm for 15 years. He is also currently a Board Member of Highlands and Islands Enterprise.
01463 423 300

Dr Sally Reynolds (Land Commissioner)

Sally is an Agricultural Consultant (with a PhD in mathematical ecology); she is currently working within the Community Land Sector as Development Officer with Carloway Estate Trust (Urras Oighreachd Chàrlabhaigh). An active crofter and livestock keeper, she contributes to a number of activities which benefit the community. She currently coordinates the Lewis and Harris Greylag Goose Management Scheme on behalf of SNH.

Lorne MacLeod (Land Commissioner)

Lorne has had an interest, and involvement, in land reform for many years. He was a founding director and, latterly, was the Chairman of Community Land Scotland, and has been a director of the community land buyout groups in Eriskay, South Uist & Benbecula, and the Isle of Gigha. He was Highlands & Islands Enterprise’s first Director of Strengthening Communities, and prior to that was Chief Executive of Skye & Lochalsh Enterprise. He is a chartered accountant, and director of a retail and distribution business in the Isle of Skye.

Megan MacInnes (Land Commissioner)

Megan has over 15 years’ experience working on land reform internationally, particularly throughout Southeast Asia, with community groups, NGOs, governments, international organisations and large agribusiness companies. She has considerable expertise in protecting land rights, land management, community empowerment, natural resource governance and human rights. She grew up on Skye and is now part of a crofting family in Applecross, and until May 2020 was the Land Advisor with the international NGO Global Witness.

Professor David Adams (Land Commissioner)

David Adams is Emeritus Professor in Urban Studies at the University of Glasgow. A Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute and the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, David was previously an adviser to the Land Reform Review Group and has researched and published widely on urban land problems.